The Best “Hanging of the Green” Service Ever

30wreath1Lately I’ve been thinking about how the church will have to change to reach a world that seems less and less interested in churchgoing.  That’s part of my job as a pastor, to look down the road a few years, especially if I’m sitting in the driver’s seat: I don’t want to steer the church in the wrong direction.  But I also don’t want to miss the party that’s going on in the back seat.

Last Sunday, for example.

For years Richmond’s First Baptist Church has been celebrating the First Sunday of Advent with an evening service called “The Hanging of the Green” (notice that it’s not “Hanging of the Greens.”  That what we used to call it, apparently, but the Green family was offended and threatened to leave the church if we tried to hang even one of them.  So we started calling it “Hanging of the Green” instead).  I hadn’t been to this service before, not here, and wondered about these cryptic emails that started showing up in my inbox with references to the “H.O.G.” 

But on Sunday evening everybody seemed to know what to expect.  The church was packed, with children, youth, parents, and grandparents filling up the sanctuary and spilling over the balcony.  We opened the sanctuary doors and someone rang the big bell in the courtyard as a call to Advent.  Candi Brown welcomed us to worship and Becky Payne played a beautiful organ prelude.

It was sometime during the singing of “O Come, All Ye Faithful” that things started to come undone.  The youth were hanging fresh pine garland and wreaths around the balcony railing when one of the wreaths slipped off its hook and crashed onto three or four hymn singers below.  No one was injured, and they were all good natured about it, but it was the first of several mishaps that night.

Someone stepped on the power cord that supplied the huge, bass speaker the deaf choir depends on to feel the beat of the song they were supposed to sign (that’s not a typo: the deaf choir doesn’t sing, it signs).  As a result they weren’t sure when to start signing, or when to stop signing, and simply had to do their very best to follow the uncertain lead of their leader, who was feeling the loss of that big, bass speaker.  I think they were all a little embarrassed, but the congregation gave them an enthusiastic ovation, putting their hands in the air and waving wildly to signify loud applause.

And then Matthew Brown stepped to the pulpit to tell us he was not Rick Whittington.  Rick and his family were supposed to light the Advent candle but they were not feeling well and therefore not able to come to church even though their names were in the bulletin.  Matthew gladly offered to fill in but somehow the word didn’t get to his family, so as he stood there he invited them to come forward and join him at the wreath, only…no one came.  He asked again, and again, and finally he said, “Are any of you here?”  That’s when his four-year-old son Jonathan stepped into the aisle and said, “Daddy, I’m right here!” in a voice loud enough for everyone to hear.

And we all laughed out loud.  Why wouldn’t we?  Wreaths were falling, equipment was malfunctioning, and whole families were failing to report for candle duty, but the First Baptist family let out a belly laugh that let everyone know it was OK—OK to be human, OK to make a few mistakes, OK not to be perfect—we were all God’s children in that moment and it was all perfectly OK with Him.

Later I heard someone describe the service as a “comedy of errors,” and in a way it was, but in another way it was a celebration of humanity in all its awkward, adorable imperfection.  I sat there for the rest of the service with a smile on my face, shaking my head and thinking,

“It’s no wonder God loves the world so much.”

14 thoughts on “The Best “Hanging of the Green” Service Ever

  1. Looks like we missed an interesting service…and, I have to say, not feeling well is putting it mildly! We didn’t make it tonight either. Thanks to Matthew for pinch hitting for us!

  2. Jim…..I so wish I had been at H.O.G. Sounds like a lot of good natured and hilarious moments. Sorry that I missed out on the fun. I do remember some funny things that have happened in other services.

    karen

  3. Hi Jim. could almost see it my self. It getting better up in DC. Holiday in coming up and all thou the house not a pastor is was stirring … but a acting pastor. Thanksgiving Eve service rang like a bell. Change in the air it not snow. Like your church evey body hold tiet to the pues it going to be a bumpy ride.

    Marry Christmas Jim and the FBC of Richmond. :)

  4. I have to forward this one to my adult children, John and Sarah, former youth who hung the garland and wreaths. Every year we watched with apprehension wondering if one of the youth group would drop a wreath on those below…Sorry I missed this service. It could be part of a new Christmas play :-)

  5. Pastor Jim,
    I am the director for the Hanging of the Greens at our church and I am already looking for a service. Would it be possible for you to mail or e-mail me the actual script for you Hanging of the Greens Service? I will give you my home address via e-mail. Thank you for you help.

  6. Herman, I don’t really have anything I can email to you, but there are several good services available online. Just Google “hanging of the green service.” Thanks.

  7. I was looking for some hymns to use in our Hanging of the Greens service and came across your blog. This is a great article! I hope you don’t mind my “borrowing it”, with full credit to you, for submission to my church’s December newsletter. Also, it was neat to learn that you served as pastor at First Baptist New Castle. I attended First Baptist Campbellsburg in Henry County as a child, and am now serving as interim minister of music at Campbellsburg Christian just down the street. I received a Master of Church Music at SBTS in December of 1987.

Leave a Reply

