Candle Aerobics?

971896384_b0882720e1I was a little nervous about the Christmas Eve service.

For weeks people had been asking me if we were going to do “candle aerobics,” and when I asked them what that meant they talked about the end of the service, where everyone is holding a lit candle.  They said that Dr. Flamming used to raise his candle and lower it during the singing of “Silent Night,” and everyone joined in.  It was especially meaningful, they said, when he raised it on that first verse, on the words “all is bright,” because the room really did become brighter as all those flames were lifted high.  “Candle Aerobics” was a tongue-in-cheek way of talking about something that had become a firm First Baptist tradition and they were wondering if I was going to continue it as the new pastor. 

I was certainly willing.  When I went to my last church they told me that during the annual Candlelight Carol Service I was supposed to walk down the aisle reading the Christmas story from Luke’s Gospel (King James Version) accompanied by two small children holding candles, that this is the way it had “always” been done and also the way I should do it.  I didn’t argue.  For eight Christmases in a row I walked that aisle, reading that story, even when one very small child almost set the Bible on fire with her candle.

The problem for me wasn’t in doing “candle aerobics,” but in doing it correctly.  I asked Allen Cumbia if he could show me the video of a Christmas Eve service.  He had to go back to 2003 before he found one that had been videotaped, and then, as I sat there in the control room with him, he fast-forwarded to the end of the service, where the candles were being lit.  The room got darker, the candlelight brighter, and eventually everyone began to sing “Silent Night.”  Sure enough, right at the end of that first line, on the words “all is bright,” every candle in the room was lifted up.  It was beautiful.  But as they were lifted again on the next verse, and again on the verse after that, I saw where the nickname “candle aerobics” had come from.  As the camera panned the congregation I thought I saw a few people smirking, as if a beautiful tradition had become some kind of joke, and that’s when I made my decision.

At the end of the Christmas Eve service, 2008, the new pastor of Richmond’s First Baptist Church held his candle perfectly still all through the singing of “Silent Night,” right up until the last line of the last verse when he raised it in order to pronounce the benediction from John 1:1-5: “In the beginning was the Word,” he said, “and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.  He was in the beginning with God and all things were made through him.  Without him was not anything made that was made.  In him was life, and this life was the light of all people.  The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has never been able to conquer it.”

I don’t know how it felt to everyone else, but to see those candles held high as I talked about the unconquerable light of Christ?  Well, it felt just right to me.  I’m sure that when I’ve been doing it twenty years some people will smirk about it, calling it the “Statue of Liberty Benediction,” but I’m also sure that it won’t bother me at that point. 

I’ll let the new pastor come up with a tradition of her own.

7 thoughts on “Candle Aerobics?

  1. I very much liked your approach to the closing carol with candle light. Your benediction from the Gospel of John was a breath of fresh air that gave new feeling to an FBC tradition. Thank you for sharing your own sense of the significance of candle light on Christmas Eve with us.

  2. I thought the single holding up the lighted candle was significant when connected with Jesus as the light of the world.

    I did not miss your humor in the last line by the word “her”.

  3. Jim – I have to admit that it has been a few years since I last attended a Christmas Eve Candlelight Service, and I have to say that I am glad that we did not do the “candle aerobics” method (I prefer to do my aerobics at home on my recumbent bike). I believe that your “Statue of Liberty Benediction” was a much better choice, although I am one of those old souls who is perfectly content to “Be still . . . “

  4. Amen to all of the above, especially Kay Smith’s comment.
    I hear you told a wonderful story about your family’s Christmas pageant at the early Christmas Eve service. I wish you would write it in your blog for all of 11:00 p.m.
    worshipers who did not attend the first service.

  5. Since our grandchildren have been born, we go to one of the local Catholic churches with our son’s family on Christmas Eve, and have missed the beautiful candlelight service at FBC. I was dying to know if you would continue the service as it had been done when we did attend, or if you would do something different. I absolutely love your blog entries that keep us abreast of what is going on at church when we are absent, and I especially loved reading of your subtle, but meaningful changes in the candlelight service. The priest at St. Bridget’s emphasized Christ’s identification with our helplessness, being bound in swaddling clothes as he was, and you emphasized the strength He would have to conquer helplessness and hopelessness, providing God’s light and love to all no matter how dark our circumstances. Now, I feel like I attended both services, but am especially grateful for the two good laughs you gave me-the Statue of Liberty Benediction, and the dilemmas the new female pastor will face when she follows you. What a great ending!
    It might happen too!

  6. The 5pm and 11pm service were outstanding – It really meant a lot to me this year.

    I also noticed your line in the blog “her”. Love it!!!! :)

Leave a Reply

