The Calm after the Storm

In the last three months I’ve made 231 Facebook friends, written 43 blog entries, preached 28 times, told a half dozen holiday stories, and sung (once) at a ladies’ tea.  It’s been a whirlwind of activity, and although I enjoy that kind of thing—breezing from one big event to the next—I am also enjoying this little bit of calm after the storm.

People kept asking me last week, “Are you ready for Christmas?” and I kept saying, “Almost.”  I meant that I had almost finished shopping for gifts and almost finished preparing the manger of my heart, but until I finished preaching the Christmas Eve service there was always one more thing to get ready for.  So, when it was over, and I was walking back home with my family after midnight, with the air strangely warm and a light breeze stirring the dead leaves on Monument Avenue, I felt my whole body relax into the holiday.  There wasn’t one more thing I had to do except fall asleep that night and wake up on Christmas morning.

So, even though I’ve had to preach twice since then, I am holding onto that holiday feeling.  In fact this morning, instead of going into the office, I’m going to take my family up to DC for a couple of days, to knock around some of our old haunts and eat at some of our favorite restaurants.  I’m going to get some of that deep rest my body needs in order to go back to a job I love.  But, don’t worry.  I’m sure I’ll come back with some interesting stories to tell, and ready to post blog entry number 44.

3 thoughts on “The Calm after the Storm

  1. Happy New Year!

    Hope you are having a wonderful time in D.C.

    What a blessing for the new year having you and your
    family at First Baptist, Richmond.

Leave a Reply

