Saturday, November 7, 2009

coffecupGood morning, Campers!

It’s 7:30 on a Saturday morning.  The front page of the newspaper is still scratching its head over the bloody massacre at Fort Hood on Thursday, wondering what would motivate a man to open fire on his fellow soldiers.  Just below that on the page is the shocking news that U.S. unemployment is above 10 percent for the first time since 1983 (Yikes!).  But there’s good news, too: the Jefferson Hotel has managed to hold on to its five diamond rating, Thomas Dale High School beat Meadowbrook 35-34 (which is good news if you’re from Thomas Dale; not so good if you’re from Meadowbrook), and today is going to be a gorgeous, sunny day with a high of 59 degrees.

So, what should we do with a day like today?

We could begin by praying for those who have suffered the loss of loved ones in the Fort Hood shooting, and for those who have lost jobs in the recession.  I’m going to follow that up with a hot breakfast (most important meal of the day) and then get on with sermon writing, which is my usual all-day-Saturday occupation.  This week I’m well ahead of schedule, thanks in part to the difficulty I had getting the sermon together last week.  I’ve been working overtime this week, and although the sermon is not ready to preach yet, it’s close, which opens up the possibilities for the rest of the day.

I’d love to get in a run if I could, although I’ll have to bundle up.  It’s cold out there!  And then, at 10:00, I’m hoping to stop by the Community Outreach Center at 2944 W. Marshall Street (just a few blocks from the church) to help out with the Refugee Outreach Work Day.  Have you met these refugees from Nepal?  They’re precious, and even the children press their palms together in greeting and say, “Namaste.”  I’ll have to be finished in time to get a shower, get dressed, and go to a cookout hosted by one of our church families, and then I’ll need to leave early to get back to church in time for the Dennis Swanberg concert at 7:00. 

It looks like it’s going to be a busy day.  So, what am I doing still sitting at the kitchen table, sipping coffee and blogging?  I need to get up and get on with it!  If you’re in the area I’d love to see you at the Refugee Outreach Work Day, and if you can’t make that maybe I’ll see you in church tomorrow, either in person or through the lens of the camera as you participate in our live webcast, at 8:30 or 11:00. 

And whatever you choose to do with this day:

May the Lord bless you and keep you;
the Lord make his face to shine upon you,
     and be gracious unto you;
the Lord lift up his countenance upon you,
     and give you peace.

 

3 thoughts on “Saturday, November 7, 2009

  1. Jim — I’m drinking coffee reading your blog. I can envision Richmond at this time of the year–one of my favorite times.
    I trust all the activities you have planned today are equally fruitful and fulfilling. Carpe manana!! –Bill

  2. I get a sense of comfort when I hear you pray this benediction each Sunday – well, Wed, sense the benediction isn’t posted until then. (haha)
    A friend of mine, a Presbyterian Minister, does the same benediction, but he changes one thing. He says, “May the Lord make his face to shine BECAUSE of you”.

    Jim, may the Lord’s face shine because of you today. Amen.

  3. I would never have guessed that you struggled so to give us that good sermon (Nov. 1) Thanks again for your inspired and inspiring preaching.

Leave a Reply

