Ellie Somerville McNevin

Image

My daughter Ellie was married on May 5, 2012, in an intimate ceremony at a historic home on the Rappahannock River.  I’m thrilled for her and happy to have Nick McNevin–an extremely talented chef from Australia–in the family. 

Ellie met Nick when he was an exchange student at her high school in DC.  They never went out, but apparently he never forgot her.  A couple of years ago, when he was thinking of moving to New York, he got in touch.  They began to correspond regularly, and then began to call each other.  Eventually he invited her to visit him in Sydney where she met his family.  As she was leaving he asked, “If I come to New York, do you reckon you could be my girlfriend?” 

She reckoned she could.

I like to tell people that Ellie fell in love with Nick two years ago, but I fell in love with him the first time he cooked for me.  Wow.  I can still remember every detail of that meal, including the way my tastebuds began to celebrate with the first bite.  Nick has been cooking at Jean Georges in New York, a Michelin Three-Star restaurant, one of only five in the city and only forty in the world. 

As I said…he is extremely talented. 

The last time he cooked for me in New York he said he’d had a busy day at the restaurant, that they’d even had to turn away some A-list celebrities.  “Really?” I asked.  “Like who?”  “Like, um, Scarlett Johansson,” he said.  I said, “Do you mean to say you didn’t cook for Scarlett, but you’re cooking for me?” I have to say: that makes a guy feel pretty special.

Welcome to the family, Nick. 

Take good care of my little girl. 

Feed her well.

4 thoughts on “Ellie Somerville McNevin

  1. Congratulations and best wishes to Ellie and Nick. I imagine it would be nice to have a professional chef in the family.

  2. Gosh, they reckon in Australia!? Oh yes, I reckon they do….it’s a southern thing right? ….Can’t get much more southern than that. I wish them a long and wonderful marriage. I also wish that he would cook for FBC…..to raise money for missions?!?!
    Sandra Millican

  3. Gives new meaning to the old saying, “the way to a man’s heart is thru his stomach!” Way to go Nick! Keep up the good work and keep your father-in- law crying for more! Vaughn Earl Hartsell, Longs, SC

  4. Most gracious God, we give you thanks for your tender love
    in sending Jesus Christ to come among us, to be born of a
    human mother, and to make the way of the cross to be the
    way of life. We thank you, also, for consecrating the union of
    man and woman in his Name. By the power of your Holy
    Spirit, pour out the abundance of your blessing upon this
    man and this woman. Defend them from every enemy. Lead
    them into all peace. Let their love for each other be a seal
    upon their hearts, a mantle about their shoulders, and a
    crown upon their foreheads. Bless them in their work and in
    their companionship; in their sleeping and in their waking; in
    their joys and in their sorrows; in their life and in their death.
    Finally, in your mercy, bring them to that table where your
    saints feast for ever in your heavenly home; through Jesus
    Christ our Lord, who with you and the Holy Spirit lives and
    reigns, one God, for ever and ever. Amen.

    My prayer for them from the Book of Common Prayer. AMEN!

Leave a Reply

