KOH2RVA: Day 9

I took this picture in the sanctuary of First Baptist Church yesterday afternoon. It’s the crew from RVA United, setting up for the worship extravaganza they will unload on Tuesday night at 7:00.

You might not think this has anything to do with our mission of bringing the Kingdom of Heaven to Richmond, Virginia, but it does. The founders of RVA United are deeply concerned for 20-30 somethings in our city who don’t have much use for the church, and who probably wouldn’t visit one of our services on a Sunday morning. But a Tuesday night event, with a loud, live band, and few hundred of their peers in the room, well…that’s different. That doesn’t feel like church at all.

And yet it is a way to connect people to Christ and help them grow in their faith. If that’s not church I don’t know what is.

Even though I’m way past my twenties and thirties, I plan to be at First Baptist on Tuesday night, just to lend my support and encouragement to a group of young people who are trying to bring the Kingdom of Heaven to Richmond, Virginia. If you’re in your twenties or thirties and live in the area I hope you’ll come, and if not I hope you’ll pray: “Thy kingdom come, thy will be done, in Richmond as it is in heaven.”

2 thoughts on “KOH2RVA: Day 9

  1. It’s wonderful to know that even in the 1800’s , most especially that Richmond Hill prayed for Richmond and beyond. I’m glad that 1st Baptist folks have been one’s to be called to prayer. Prayer is POWERFUL!!

  2. I experienced a miracle at Grace Fellowship last week. I was eating supper with a middle-aged woman who said she had found herself homeless in a city she knew nothing about. She had arrived in Richmond from a western state a few days ago planning to visit her son who is in jail. She had become ill and was hospitalized for a day or two. Upon released from the hospital she had no place to go and it was already late afternoon. Someone told her about Grace Fellowship, and that’s how I met her and sat at her table.

    As the evening went on, she became more and more anxious at the thought of spending the night outdoors and I felt my anxiety increase right along with hers.
    About that time, another woman sat down at the table, overheard the conversation and said, “You can stay with me if you don’t mind sleeping in a chair.” “I’ll sleep on the floor if I have to!” the first woman replied. The tension and worry of a moment before was replaced by relief and gratitude.

    We all recognized that God had performed a miracle at our table. Both women need our prayers. The woman that offered her home will soon be homeless herself because of employment problems. However, God blessed her willingness to share what she had.

    My husband hasn’t been able to volunteer at Grace Fellowship for a few months because of health problems. However, I am still attending because I see it as something Jesus might do. He spoke of feeding the hungry more than any other activity his followers should do. Whenever I volunteer I receive a blessing greater than anything I could do for the homeless.

    Jean

Leave a Reply

