KOH2RVA: Day 162

weary1Yesterday, for the first time in a long time, I didn’t blog.

Since the beginning of First Baptist Church’s year-long, every-member mission trip on September 9, 2012, I’ve tried to post something every day as a way of inspiring the troops, keeping the momentum of KOH2RVA going forward, and encouraging the reluctant to “get off the bus” and onto the mission field.

But yesterday I didn’t.

An unscheduled trip to see my dad on Saturday put me way behind in sermon preparation. At 5:00 Sunday morning I was up writing a third draft of the sermon by hand, hoping (and praying) that I had something to say, and something that made sense. I got to church by eight and spent the next few hours simply trying to hold every Sunday-morning thing together in my head, which included not only the many drifting pieces of the sermon, but also the life, faith, and personal information of four young people for whom this was not just another day but the day of their baptism. By God’s grace I made it through to the end, welcomed new member David Humrich, shared the heartbreaking news of Kalena Porter’s death, and somehow remembered to make the announcement about the showing of Budrus, a documentary film about the Israeli-Palestinian conflict.

I was relieved.

I spent the rest of the afternoon running with Team First, our Monument Avenue 10K training team, and meeting with Jay McNeal’s ordination council. I left the building a little before six and walked the few blocks home feeling weary, but satisfied.

It had been a good day at First Baptist Church.

Today I’m waking up wondering how to bring the Kingdom of Heaven to Richmond, Virginia and hoping I’ll have the strength for it. I think I will. I’m feeling rested and refreshed. I’ve got some interesting things on the agenda. What makes me truly grateful is knowing I’m not alone in this, that there are lots of other people waking up this morning wondering the same thing.

Many of whom will be too busy bringing heaven to earth to read my blog.

One thought on “KOH2RVA: Day 162

Leave a Reply

