Sowing Seeds of Love

mustard seedIt sounds a little corny, doesn’t it? (or a little wheaty, or a little barley, depending on what kind of seeds you use), but at the end of my sermon on the parable of the mustard seed recently I suggested that the seed of the Kingdom might be love.  The more I’ve thought about it the more true it seems.  When we say loving words, when we do loving deeds, we sow the seeds of the Kingdom.  If we could learn to love this city, love the people we meet, love the planet we live on, then the Kingdom would come, on earth as it is in heaven.

If a kingdom can be defined as that place where a king rules, then the Kingdom of God is that place where God rules, and since God is love (1 John 4:8), the Kingdom is that place where love rules.  Right?

I was thinking those thoughts on the Monday after I preached that sermon, while I ran down Monument Avenue to Monroe Park and headed back on Main Street.  Somewhere along the way I saw that someone had chalked the word LOVE on the sidewalk, using multicolored sidewalk chalk.  The letters were big and bold, and I could almost imagine that the person who did it had heard my sermon the day before, had taken me seriously, and decided that one of the ways to sow the seeds of the Kingdom in this city was to write the word LOVE on the sidewalk where people walking along with their heads down would see it. 

I saw it, and it made me smile, to think that someone was out there sowing the seeds of the Kingdom.  Maybe you’re out there doing it too, in your own way, and maybe soon enough the world will begin to see the fruits of your labor:

Love.

One thought on “Sowing Seeds of Love

  1. I couldn’t agree more with you on Love being the seed of the kingdom. In my experience, it is loving that has the most impact on others, over anything else we do. I did mission work in New Orleans and Honduras, and in both places I built houses. The interesting part was that as greatful as the people were who were receiving houses, it always seemed like they were more amazed by the love shown by the people in our team than by any physical reward they received. And its true for me too: I dont remember the details of the house construction, but I can’t forget the lunch I had with two guys in New Orleans who had lost everything in Katrina. We talked and laughed over some PoBoys and I can imagine that for at least a moment during that lunch they both forgot about the storm, the losses they had suffered, and maybe they felt (like I did) what the kingdom must be like. We didn’t even share the gospel with these two guys in the literal sense, but somehow I think they heard it none-the-less.

    “I give you a new command. Love one another. You must love one another, just as I have loved you. If you love one another, everyone will know you are my disciples.” (John 13:34)

    Thanks for the posts, I really enjoy reading them.

Leave a Reply

