That Just Happened!

I went to hear the Richmond Symphony perform Carl Orff’s Carmina Burana this afternoon.  It was incredible.  I had heard it before at the Kennedy Center in Washington but this was even better.  I had to pinch myself to believe it was happening right here in Richmond, at the newly restored and absolutely breathtaking Carpenter Theatre.  Fortunata Imperatrix Mundi (“Fortune, the Empress of the World”) has been one of my favorites for years, but I think it was performed this afternoon with as much gusto as I’ve ever heard.  I’m attaching this You Tube clip of the opening section, “O, Fortuna,” to give you a taste of it.  Turn up the volume!

5 thoughts on “That Just Happened!

  1. Thank you for posting this! I enjoyed hearing the beatiful voices, and the new theater is gorgeous. I was there for the rehersal of the grand opening a couple of weeks ago.
    Starting my day listening to Tony Campolo at the Faith Festival hosted by Derbyshire Baptist church, and now finishing it up listening to the symphony playing Carl Orff’s Carmina Burana! This has been a great day! I am ready for Monday…

  2. Jim I attended the Richmond Symphony on Sat night and heard the glorious Carmina Burana. I had heard my granddaughter’s VCU concert group sing it but there was of course no comparison. I was pleased tpo see our RichardSuzcs and several choir members present. What a moving experience to hear the symphony the 100 member chorus and 30 selected young people .

Leave a Reply

