In My Mind I’m Going to Guadalupe

GuadalupeNext month I’m going to Guadalupe Mountains National Park in West Texas to do some hiking with long time backpacking partners Chuck Treadwell and Joe Perez.  Chuck and I have been hiking together for thirty years, spending one week a year in some of the most beautiful places in America.  Joe is a mutual friend from college who has joined the party only in the last six or seven years, but he’s a natural addition.  And while Chuck is actually my brother-in-law, we often drop the “in-law” part.  You don’t do that much hiking together without developing deep and lasting bonds. 

So, on this day off I’m getting my backpack out of storage and dreaming of the mountains.  I’m thinking about being in the desert with my brothers-in-boots and looking up at a night sky studded with stars. 

I’m going to Guadalupe in my mind.

3 thoughts on “In My Mind I’m Going to Guadalupe

  1. Judging by the picture the azure of Guadalupe sky is beautiful. Turn your attention to nature gives you peace and tranquility make the minds serene to dispel clouds, things that distract and disturb, for the sake of health, both of body and mind.

  2. Brother-in-law

    a few weeks and we will wake on cold mornings, drink hot coffee as we watch God recreate the world again, right before our very eyes. We will hike until our 50 year old legs cry out for mercy. We will spend the evenings eating, sippin’, and delving deep into things that matter and things that really don’t. And we will wonder what Ellie is doing in NYC. And we will Ponder.

  3. Dear Jim,

    We have been there and we hiked the Guadalupe mountain. It was great.

    You will have a great time

    Doug is saying Hi.

    Fatena

Leave a Reply

