Back!

Guadalupe Peak

I’m back from my backpacking trip to Guadalupe Mountains National Park and will be blogging again soon.  I just wanted to post this picture of Joe, Chuck, and Jim on top of Guadalupe Peak, the highest point in Texas.  Hey, don’t laugh!  It’s 8,751 feet high, more than a mile-and-a-half, and a good 2,000 feet higher than any mountain east of the Mississippi.  On the day we climbed it the wind was whipping around the summit and the chill factor made us glad we had brought warm clothing, but what a trip!

More to come…

One thought on “Back!

  1. Jim ,
    When I saw this picture I thought,
    They wore their paddles down to nubs, and only salvaged one third of their kayak, but they finally made it to the top 🙂

    I assume you are leaning on a monument of some type, although it does look like part of a kayak in the photo.
    I am sure the trip was awesome.

    Blessings to you and yours,
    CP

Leave a Reply

