I Was Robbed!

I celebrated my 51st birthday just a few days ago and it was wonderful.  I really have nothing to complain about.  Ralph Starling mentioned it during the opening announcements at church and everybody who shook my hand on the way out after worship wished me a happy birthday.  And then my Facebook friends outdid themselves; I spent a good part of my birthday afternoon smiling through all their good wishes and funny comments.  I went to see a great movie that evening (“The Blind Side” at the Byrd Theater) and then caught up with some friends for dinner where we talked and laughed until way past my bedtime.  As I said, it was a wonderful day.  I have nothing to complain about.  Except…

When I was talking to my daughter Catherine on the phone last night I realized that the Daylight Savings time change had occurred on my birthday, that the whole “Spring Forward” thing where you set your clocks up an hour at 2:00 a.m. had happened at 2:00 a.m. on my special day.  Which means, of course, that out of the 24 hours allotted to every man, woman, and child for birthday celebration I (and the others who were born on March 14) only got 23!

I didn’t think that was fair.  Catherine didn’t think it was fair.  I told her I didn’t know how I was going to do it, but somehow I was going to get that lost hour back.  And then it dawned on us both at the same moment:  “Fall Back.”  That’s right, when the time changes back in the fall I can reclaim the lost hour of my birthday.  I can get up at 2:00 in the morning, set my clock back an hour, and party like it’s 1959 (my idea).  I can crank up the Beatles “You Say It’s Your Birthday” and dance around the living room in my pajamas (Catherine’s idea).  Either way, or another way I haven’t even thought of yet,

I’m getting my hour back.

6 thoughts on “I Was Robbed!

  1. You could have done what I did–set the clocks ahead at noon on Saturday. Then we had a full 24 hours for Sunday.

    I am reminded of the year we went to Australia. We had a stopover planned for Hawaii on the way home. We left our hotel at 6:00 AM on Saturday, July 20 (my birthday) and arrived in Hawaii at 5:30 AM on July 20. I had a 40 hour birthday that year.

    So next year, if you want a really long birthday, go to Australia.

  2. Happy Birthday, Jim! It’s my brother’s birthday today, St. Patrick’s Day, so I’m glad I read your blog. Otherwise I might have forgotten to call and wish him a happy birthday too.

    Travis

    P.S.: You don’t look a day over 50! 🙂

  3. TWILIGHT!
    ‘The dusky night rides down the sky and ushers in the moon.”—Henry Fielding

    So it is, that twilight magic, silvery time around sunset, with radiant rays glistening on the earth, provides the profusion of delight where one could take back an hour that has been plundered.

    Nature did not take your personal property, cause pain, nor annoyance on purpose. Daylight savings time , however, brings forward your formal complaint. How successfully can one rage war on Mother Nature?

    You gotta love Mother Nature. She uses winter to pound the east coast with cold, ice, wind, and snow, makes one wonder if a golden, pale yellow, delicate, curvy, lusious jonquil will ever surface, much less prevail, in a garden. Will spring EVER show its handsome face? Will it?

    Mother Nature clouds one’s mind as it clouds the sky with pelting rain, dark afternoons, and low temperatures. It is February: as that month spills effusively onto the next, March comes in like a lion and promises better things.
    One of those things is Daylight Savings Time. SPR-R-RING! Easing the energy crunch, DST means less morning hours and more afternoon hours. Less traffic fatalaties occur after DST arrives, and the extra time before twilight is a gift.

    So go with Mother Nature. Enjoy the twilight time, as it creeps in later and later until the longest day, June 21st. DST has already pushed night an hour away—every day!! Laugh at night. Revel in that last hour of daylight. Snub darkness that veils the day’s end.

    Barely more than half a hundred years old? By all means, enjoy the diffused light from the sky and celebrate each twilight. With six months of DST, you’ll have one hundred and eighty hours of fun, taking that hour daily for six months. Oh how you’ll enjoy the twilight hour and breathe deeply from the solar plexus.

    You get that hour back every day, and God Himself is gleeful that you dance by the light of the silvery—twilight.

    TWILIGHT!

  4. I love it, Trisha! And I promise to embrace each twilight hour between now and the autumnal equinox.

    What a poet you are!

  5. Well, RATS! I am just now catching up on your blog so I can only wish you a belated happy birthday! Of course, I could wait until next fall, call you at 2 AM and wish you happy birthday THEN! Or, um, NOT! And may I say, you don’t look a day over 49! Seriously, you actually look like you are still in your 30s! Which is far better than me. I turn 59 years old, this coming Wednesday, and I don’t look a day over 70! Oh well! Anyway, hope you had a happy birthday last weekend, “ol’ geezer” and may God bless you and yours throughout your new year! Glad to know that you are a fellow “March birthday person”!

  6. Cheers to you as you reach another milestone. I have always believed that age is only an attitude. As for me, I love getting older; it’s a matter of feeling. So as Emerson once penned, “We do not count a man’s years until he has nothing else to count”.

Leave a Reply

