Lighten Up

There was a time when I blogged regularly, purposefully, about “important things” that “needed to be said.”

I must have said all those things.

I find that I don’t have much energy for blogging these days.  The very idea makes me sigh.  But maybe that’s because I think I need to write about important things that need to be said.  What if I just lightened up a little, and wrote about the things that make me smile?  There are lots of those things, almost every day.  For example:

  • I could tell you the story of my Easter Monday adventure, when I walked fifty miles in a single day (ouch!).
  • Or my canoe trip on the Rappahannock the week before, when my niece Rachel and I got dumped into the chilly water in a particularly lively stretch of white water.
  • I could tell you that I’ve been invited to speak at the CBF meeting in Tampa in a couple of weeks, on the topic of “Prophetic Preaching for Anxious People.”
  • Or that I’m going to the Baptist World Alliance meeting in Malaysia in July, to serve on the Peace Commission.
  • I could tell you about the funniest thing that happened on our recent staff retreat.
  • Or share with you the funniest thing someone sent to my email inbox on any given day.
  • I could tell you how my parents are getting along, or what my children are up to, or how I spend my day off.
  • I could tell you the whole story of how my brothers and I accidentally burned down the house when we were kids.
  • I could tell you why I seem to keep ending up at the Sweetfrog frozen yogurt place on Cary Street every night.

With all that to write about, it seems that I could return to regular blogging.  These aren’t really important things.  They don’t really need to be said.  But maybe it would be fun to say them.  And maybe now, in the summer, when things are a little less hectic at church, would be a good time.

Stay tuned.

4 thoughts on “Lighten Up

  1. Looking forward to getting to know more about you through the “unimportant” things. It was the opinion of Brother Lawrence that God is every bit as present in the unimportant, eveyday stuff of life as in worship or study (or in your case, being a prophetic voice).

  2. For a long time I have been of the opinion that most of what happens in our lives would probably fall in the category of unimportant stuff. If you decide that you are not going to write about that stuff, then you are leaving out a whole lot of the stuff that makes up our lives. Of course, there are those who would say that there is no such thing as unimportant stuff. That thing you say or do may seem be of little consequence to you, but it may mean a great deal to someone else. That little stone that you toss into the pond may be very small and may seem very inconsequential but, the ripples that spread out across the pond from that small inconsequential stone being tossed, tends to reach out farther than you could ever imagine. So, I am looking forward to hearing about some of the seemingly unimportant things in your life and being touched by the ripples that spread out from where you have tossed that seemingly unimportant stone in the pond. Take care and best wishes.

  3. God gives each one of us gifts, let us not bury them but use them all to God’s glory.

Leave a Reply

