KOH2RVA: Day 63

This is how I’m going to try to bring the Kingdom of Heaven to Richmond, Virginia, today:

1. I’m going to have coffee (which doesn’t bring heaven to earth for anyone else, necessarily, but it certainly does it  for me).

2. I’m going to write a blog post (and if you’re reading this then I already have.  The coffee must have done the trick!).

3. I’m going to go outside to cheer on the marathoners who will start running past my house around 8:15. One of my spiritual gifts is the gift of encouragement, and that’s what I’m going to do—encourage these people who are trying to run 26.2 miles. I love to run, and I love running as a metaphor of the spiritual life. The author of Hebrews says, “Let us lay aside every weight, and the sin that clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us.” I’m not running the marathon today (my race is the 10K), but I will be one of those in the “great cloud of witnesses” surrounding those runners, cheering them on.

4. I’m going to Glen Lea Elementary School from 11:00 to 2:00 for their Fall Festival. This is the school First Baptist has “adopted” for this year-long, every-member mission trip, and this is a great opportunity to visit the school, help out if I can, but mostly be a friendly, smiling presence. Steve Blanchard tells me First Baptist is sponsoring a “cake walk,” and giving away children’s books. I’m not sure how I can help with that (maybe as official “cake-taster”?), but I’ll be there, and if you have the time and can come I hope to see you there, too (3909 Austin Avenue, just off Laburnum).

5. Finally, I’m going to finish my sermon on Ruth so that I will be ready to preach in the morning, and that could take a while. That book is so rich, so deep, so full of surprises that I can hardly hope to do it justice in a twenty minute sermon. But I’ll try, and I hope you’ll come to church tomorrow to hear it if you can. I find that heaven often comes to earth right there in the sanctuary of First Baptist Church on a Sunday morning. I have a feeling that may happen tomorrow, on Day 64 of KOH2RVA.

3 thoughts on “KOH2RVA: Day 63

  1. I ran the 8k race with Shawnae Lacy this morning, but didn’t get to see you because we were over on Grace St near the church around 7:18am. Missed running with (behind) you, but we did finish with personal bests! Can’t wait to start 10k training at church in January!

Leave a Reply

