KOH2RVA: Day 136

airplane1I’m up early this morning, headed to the airport to catch a flight to Phoenix where I will be meeting with a group of other pastors to talk about the particular challenges faced by large Baptist churches. Since I won’t be in Richmond for the next few days, I’m going to take a break from my daily blogging about bringing the KOH2RVA, but I hope you won’t let that keep you from bringing it. I’ve seen so many good examples lately–more than I have time to write about: the group that taught peacemaking to children at Essex Village on Monday, the warmth and intimacy of the deacon ordination service on Sunday afternoon, the crazy, chaotic, loving embrace of Upward Basketball on Saturday…the list goes on and on. Maybe you will be a part of it this week. Maybe you already are. Write to me and tell me about it at somerville@fbcrichmond.org. And when I get back from Arizona…

…we’ll have stories to share.

2 thoughts on “KOH2RVA: Day 136

  1. Blessings on your trip — you will have a lot to contribute to the conversation, as well as something to bring home to us — just last night I was at a community function & someone asked me what I thought was the future of large city churches who were NOT reaching out to those around them. The same person also observed that he was quite impressed with FBC of Richmond, and the ways in which we are reaching out to the world in which we live. We both agreed that we are blessed to have the leadership we have and the members of our congregation who are genuinely trying to bring heaven to earth right here in Richmond. The stories that our folks are sharing are a continuing inspiration to open one’s eyes, and look for the opportunities each day. It just takes an open heart & mind, and willing hands! THANKS.

  2. I will miss your daily blog. Stay warm in Phoenix and you’ll escapse the two snow events here!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

