KOH2RVA: Day 142

Kim and KarenDo you remember Karen, the woman who was looking for a way to “get off the bus” and onto the mission field?  After the tragic shooting in Newtown, Connecticut, she made up her mind to do whatever she could for a local elementary school, and chose the school First Baptist has partnered with this year: Glen Lea Elementary.  Karen took the principal, Kim Lee, a small gift bag that included some Shenandoah Valley apples (that’s where Karen grew up), and made a promise to visit the school once a month and pray for the school every day.  Apparently she is making good on that promise: I got this email from Karen while I was in Arizona last week.

Hi, Jim. I hope you are having a nice trip. It is cold and snowy here. But I’m not complaining. I visited Kim Lee today. I took her a pretty mug and hot chocolate. Future visits include having lunch together, reading to a lower level classroom, and helping at a game night sponsored by the PTA. She enthusiastically told me about the success of a behavioral cart and a similar initiative dealing with homework all to encourage and build model students. Not sure who felt more blessed as I left. Regards Karen

I’m really proud of Karen.  Even though it hasn’t come easily or naturally for her she is finding her way onto the mission field, step by step.  The last time she wrote to me I told her:

Karen, this is wonderful news. But be careful (smile). These things have a way of getting into your heart and then you know what happens…

I think she’s about to find out.

One thought on “KOH2RVA: Day 142

  1. Wonderful work my wife is doing for this mission. She is such an
    amazing person, so caring, etc. Wilson Grizzard

Leave a Reply

