KOH2RVA: Day 237

tug_of_warOkay, campers…we’ve had our fun. We’ve spent the week sharing our thoughts and feelings about homosexuality. We’ve done it in a respectful way and my hope is that we’ve all come to a more compassionate place, but as I wrote in Tuesday’s post I am not on a crusade:

I’m on a mission trip.

And today is Day 237 of KOH2RVA, First Baptist’s year-long, every-member mission trip to bring the Kingdom of Heaven to Richmond, Virginia. It’s a big one. I’ve been up since 5:00 just because there’s so much to be done.

At 9:00 this morning Dr. Terry Whipple and friends are going to host “The Physician Within,” which started with Terry’s dream of taking a medical mission trip without ever leaving the city of Richmond. Today the topic is back and neck pain, and if you have either, or know someone who has either, I hope you will be in the dining hall of Richmond’s First Baptist Church at 9:00. The workshop will last until 11:30 this morning, which should give you enough time to have a leisurely lunch with friends before moving on to…

The “Spring Bash” at the Anna Julia Cooper Episcopal School on Church Hill. The Generosity Team at First Baptist challenged the church to provide gifts and prizes for the middle schoolers who will be competing today and the response was overwhelming, but we could still use some volunteers to help out with the games.  We’re hoping for two shifts: one from 11:00 to 1:00 and another from 1:00 to 3:00. The school is located at 2124 N. 29th Street. Your help would be greatly appreciated.

I’m hoping to spend some time at each of those events, but it’s Saturday, the day I finish up the sermon, and there’s a whole lot left to be written. But the people who were made uncomfortable by last Sunday’s sermon will be glad to know—this one is about Paul’s vision of the man from Macedonia saying, “Come over and help us!” It’s not about homosexuality at all. Because I’m not on a crusade:

I’m on a mission trip.

2 thoughts on “KOH2RVA: Day 237

  1. Well said! It’s definitely time to “let go and let God” — I have great confidence that He’s wiser than all of us put together, whatever our opinions, and however respectfully stated. Do let’s see where the bus leads us today. Blessings for all, and I look forward to your sermon tomorrow!

  2. Great post Betty Ann and I agree. Who is “He” or is God, God. Ultimately that is a question that will need to be addressed. I am on the bus the pronoun is not going to get me off it but what doors can be opened by using gender neutral references. I am looking forward to Jim’s sermon tomorrow as I always do streaming at 8:30AM from Raleigh, NC before attending my welcoming and affirming and God neutral church.

Leave a Reply

