Heading West

I’m on a plane, getting ready to fly to Zion National Park in Utah (or as close as I can get on a commercial aircraft). I’m spending the week hiking with my regular backpacking partners, Chuck Treadwell and Joe Perez, and flying back on Saturday so I can preach on Sunday.

I love my time in the wilderness and with these friends. It is always a spiritual retreat. Someone told me after worship today, “When you go to the Grand Canyon you look down. When you go to Zion National Park you look up.” That line from Psalm 121 came to mind: “I will lift up mine eyes unto the hills.”

That’s what I’m going to do this week.

I’ll count on the rest of you to bring heaven to earth while I look for a little bit of heaven to bring back to Richmond. I have a feeling I’m going to find some.

Happy Trails,

Jim

One thought on “Heading West

  1. If you get back a little late Saturday please join my pew. Bart can preach while we worship! Have a great time Jim.

Leave a Reply

