Baking and Taking to Some Really Sweet Seniors

ImageEvery other month the Bake and Take team comes together to fellowship and bake goodies to distribute to members of our community. One member suggested that during the month of February we bake for our Seniors . . . everyone agreed this was a great way to bring some sweetness to KOH2RVA.

After finding out how many Senior classes there were at FBC (11) and the number of Seniors in each class (total of 235), the group went to work, baking and bagging cookies so that each member would receive their very own bag of treats.  These were distributed to each class on February 16 by an amazing group of Bakers.

Here are some of their comments:

“I always think of the Seniors of our church as the founders or backbone because of their years of service and dedication to the church.  When asked to bake for the seniors, it was a very humbling moment for me because I felt I could show them how much they are appreciated and loved even if only with a small bag of valentine cookies. The looks on their faces when I presented my “bit of sweetness coming from the Kingdom” was priceless and made my day as well as theirs. They all confessed to “not minding being a senior if it meant getting sweet treats like these” (Susan Bethel).

“I made heart-shaped sugar cookies with red sprinkles and chocolate chip cookies and wrapped them in treat bags decorated with hearts.  The seniors were so surprised that everyone in their class received an individual Valentine treat bag of cookies.  I got a lot of questions and many were amazed that the “Bake and Take” team made treats just for the seniors.  Some did not realize we had a “Bake and Take” ministry.  I told them that we have made cookies and cupcakes for others groups, including:  fire departments, local businesses, church neighbors, and homeless shelters”  (Jeanne Hechler).

The Sunday School classes that I took cookies to were so happy that someone brought them cookies.  I attached a heartfelt valentine card to each box. It was a wonderful experience to give a box of “God love” to folks that have given so much of God’s love to us in so many ways.  It was a heart warming blessing.

P.S.  While I was baking on Saturday morning, my husband sat in the kitchen and did not move. He watched as I baked each batch of cookies, took them out of the oven, counted them one by one. When I realized he was watching my every move I poured him a cup of fresh coffee and served him some fresh baked cookies. He was happy as a kid in the candy store. (Debbie Hott).

–Story by Vicki Nicholau, head baker and taker

 

Leave a Reply

