Is this what life in the Kingdom looks like?

Pink Prayers2
My wife, Christy, teaches Kindergarten at St. Michael’s Episcopal School in the Bon Air neighborhood of Richmond.

A few weeks ago she had to break the news to her headmaster that she had been diagnosed with breast cancer.  The good news is (because she goes for an annual mammogram) her doctor caught it early.  Christy was reassured that a little bit of surgery and some follow-up radiation would do the trick.  And so, on October 2, she had a “little bit” of surgery.  She has spent the last three weeks recovering and getting ready for radiation treatments, scheduled to begin today.

When she got to school this morning she found that everyone at St. Michael’s was wearing pink as a sign of support, and during chapel everyone was invited to join in a prayer for Ms. Somerville.  A few of the children put their hands on her shoulders, and then everybody tried to get in on the action, leaning forward, reaching out toward a beloved teacher.

Christy told me her hands were busy wiping away tears.

At church lately I’ve been asking people what life in the Kingdom looks like, and wondering if it is that place where we bear one another’s burdens, and wash one another’s feet, and forgive one another’s sins.  When I saw this picture my own question was answered. What does life in the Kingdom look like?

This.

It looks like this, like that place where children wear pink and say prayers for their teacher.

May that Kingdom come everywhere, and not only at St. Michael’s School.

19 thoughts on “Is this what life in the Kingdom looks like?

  1. So sorry to hear this Jim! Kevin, the boys and I will join the pink prayer warriors in praying for Christy’s healing and comfort!

  2. This is such a beautiful message. I kind of thought this might have been the outcome of the lumpectomy. She should do well, but this kind of support will make all the difference. Attitude is the key to recovery. She is strong, and I hope she knows the entire church is with her. She should be able to feel all our hands on her shoulders. Prayers for both of you.

  3. I am wiping away tears as well as I read this beautiful gesture and outpouring love and concern for their teacher and colleague. All of you are in my prayers,
    Beverley Massey

  4. HEALING WITH TRUE LOVE AND SMALL HANDS CAN WORK MIRACLES. IN COLLECTIVITY IT WORKS WONDERS. WE ARE IN THE KINGDOM OF GOD. SO TRUE. ITS BEAUTIFUL.
    WE SHALL ALL PRAY HERE AND SEND HER HEALING. WITH LOTS OF LOVE.ARMAITY

  5. This is one of the most beautiful things I have seen in a while, thank you to both of you for sharing. I am praying for Christy right now~ I didn’t realize that the biopsy had come back positive. I hope that she continues to find strength and beauty to help encourage her.

  6. Jim – my father was the pastor of St. Michael’s Episcopal for 25 years…I spent more time at this church/school than any other and am proud to say I’m a board member now. I will always remember this story and that picture. God Bless you and your family. Matthew H. Steilberg

  7. Thank you for sharing this. What a beautiful story. We are praying for Christy, and we will continue. Praying for you, too, as you go through this with her. Judy Fernald

  8. My daughter, Ava, goes to St Michael’s school. She is in third grade and was on a Field Trip to Jamestown yesterday but she insisted on wearing all pink right down to her socks to show support for your wife. Your wife has made a huge and wonderful impression on a lot of young lives, we wish her and you all the best. Marion Price

  9. I went to St. Michaels from kindergarten through 7th grade, (then on to Trinity Episcopal High School) and was also a member of the church there through my high school years. Although I don’t personally know your wife, this story touched my soul. Lifting all of you up with prayers of complete healing and strength. God bless!

  10. Healing prayers sent your way. With God all is possible. God bless you West Ayer’s grandmother St. Louis Mo

  11. Christy was not the only one with tears in her eyes. It was a beautiful thing to see 200+ children and teachers, with their hands on each others shoulders and backs, all leaning over to surround their beloved teacher and friend with their prayers. It was a moment where God’s Kingdom truly came on Earth. I am honored to minister in this community.

  12. Jim, great pictures and truly a wonderful way the kingdom of God reveals to us. Please know that the McCoys will be wearing “pink” this Sunday as we remember Christy. Prayers and love to you both.

  13. I believe that wonderful pastor emeritus will be a wonderful help during your wife’s recovery. We watch from Deltaville just about every Sunday. My husband noticed you said people from Charlottesville and Williamsburg , the preppy places, but all manner of people are benefiting from FBC TV ministry..

  14. Pastor Jim, thank you for sharing such a beautiful and touching event. Christy is in my prayers. I am a 14 year breast cancer survivor and I know God answers prayers!

Leave a Reply

